Paul Williamsen

Interim Principal

80 North Main Street

Mayfield, NY 12117

518.661.8222

leaf bullet Pre-Kindergarten

Mary Ephraim

 

Welcome to Pre-K!

Our goal is to provide a safe, comfortable environment where learning is fun. Our philosophy is that young children learn best through play and exploration.

The Pre-K Day

  • Arrival and Free Play

  • Circle Time: calendar, days of the week, weather, daily jobs, pre-reading instruction, math concepts, show and tell, fingerplays

  • Snack: socialization, manners, independence

  • Story: attentive listening, remembering details, answering questions, listening for pleasure

  • Learning Centers

    • Academic: colors, shapes, counting, numbers, letters, rhyming, sequencing, patterns, pre-writing, problem-solving, size concepts, expressive and receptive language skills, etc.

    • Art: fine motor development, creativity, following directions, use of art materials, cutting, pre-writing, etc.

    • Fine Motor: puzzles, stringing beads, lacing, peg boards, manipulation of small objects, building toys, cutting, pre-writing, etc.

    • Play/Socialization Centers: interactive play, sharing, taking turns, cooperation, imagination, problem solving and language development

    • Sensory Center: sensory exploration through the use of play dough, sand, water, etc.

  • Music & Movement

  • Dismissal

 

Upcoming Events

Thur, May 17

Special Board of Education meeting, Executive Session; 6 p.m., District Office

Wed, May 23

Brainstorm Coffee House; 6 - 8 p.m. Jr/Sr HS Cefe

Mon, May 28

Schools closed for Memorial Day

Thur, May 31

Spring Choral Concert; 6:30 -  7:30 p.m. Auditorium

Sat, Jun 2

Prom Walk; 5:30 - 6:30 p.m., HS front lawn

Post Prom; 11:30 p.m. - 5:00 a.m., High School

Mon, Jun 11

Last day of classes for Jr/Sr HS students

Mandatory Graduation Practice; 11:00 a.m., Auditorium

Tues-Fri, Jun 12-22

Regents Testing; No classes

Fri, Jun 15

Half-day for Elementary students; a.m. only (Full day faculty/staff)

Tues, Jun 19

Board of Education Meeting; Executive Session 6:30 p.m., District Office; Regular Meeting 7 p.m., Elementary Library

Fri, Jun 22

Last Day of School

Grade 6 Graduation; 10 a.m., Auditorium; 1/2 day for Elementary students, a.m. only (Full day faculty/staff)

Class of 2018 Awards Ceremony; 5:30 p.m., Auditorium (followed by Baccalaureate at Mayfield Methodist Church)

Sat, Jun 23

Class of 2018 Graduation; 11 a.m.; HS Front Lawn (weather permitting)

Wed, Jul 4

Schools Closed

Tues, Jul 10

Reorganizational Board of Education meeting; 7 p.m.; HS Cafeteria

Tues, Aug 21

Board of Education meeting; 7 p.m., HS Cafeteria